GIRAFFE Award For Achieved Lecturers

The Rector, Prof. Dr. Ir. Nuhfil Hanani, A.R., M.S. While Giving Award to Faculties with the Greatest Number of Citations at Google Scholar, Which are FT, FIA, and FP
The Rector, Prof. Dr. Ir. Nuhfil Hanani, A.R., M.S. While Giving Award to Faculties with the Greatest Number of Citations at Google Scholar, Which are FT, FIA, and FP

Universitas Brawijaya (UB) gives awards for achieved lecturers and institutions with the name GIRAFFE Award, Monday (17/8/2020).

The Rector, Prof. Dr. Ir. Nuhfil Hanani, A.R., M.S. said that the giving of GIRAFFE Award marks UB awakening to become international.

“After there have been many international achievements that have been achieved by UB before, such as 33 study programs that have achieved international accreditation, the Times Higher Education (THE) version that UB is in the 4th best position in Indonesia, for Asian ranking of THE version is in the 401+, and QS Asia in 301-305 Best. With the GIRAFFE Award, it will stimulate the academic community to increase UB ranking in the international arena, “said Nuhfil.

Meanwhile, Vice Rector IV of Planning and Cooperation, Prof. Dr. Ir. Moch. Sasmito Djati, M.S. said GIRAFFE stands for Government, Innovation, Reputation, Alumni, Faculty, Fund, and Efficiency, and is one of the university’s strategies to improve international rankings.

He explained that UB position in the international arena is in the performance contract of the Rector with the General Director of the Ministry of Education and Culture.

“One of the contents of the performance contract is that UB must be in the 500+ position. Whereas as an institution, we are currently in the 800-1000 world, “he said.

Therefore, a strategy is needed that must be done systematically, integrative, and all parties must be involved.

“One of the prominent parts that must be designed is GIRAFFE. All are revealed in the Performance Indicators. The performance indicator is linked to the contract of the Rector with the Ministry of Education and Culture, the Ministry of Finance as well as with our own Strategic Plan, in which finally we can reach 500 worlds, “he said.

Furthermore, the professor of Molecular Reproductive Biology hopes that this award will encourage individuals and systems to be involved in all indicators in GIRAFFE so that they can carry out the agreed performance contract.

GIRAFFE is an award given to lecturers and institutions such as study programs, departments, and institutional supporting systems such as business entities and research institutions.

GIRAFFE indicators for individuals or lecturers are achievement in the number of citations in google scholar, Scopus, and the number of innovations in the form of Patents.

“The data is already in SINTA and everything is measured, there are no likes and dislikes because it is based on data,” he said.

Meanwhile, the GIRAFFE Grant is a grant to institutions that can design how to achieve performance indicators according to predetermined goals.

Grant that will be obtained by the institution will be linked to the performance achievement strategies in the form of programs.

The GIRAFFE socialization was held in September October last year and has become the 2020-2025 Strategic Plan.

Government indicators include management patterns at universities and faculties, Innovation related to research productivity, Reputation related to world ranking, Alumni related to Tracer study, Faculty related to improving the quality of lecturers, Fund is how the innovations we produce can be implemented to the community and can generate income, as well as Efficiency related to IT-based management systematization.

The GIRAFFE Grant will be announced next year to be coincided with the 57th UB Anniversary in 2021.

The following are the names that received the GIRAFFE Award.

The outstanding lecturer in Science and Technology is Dr. Sc. Asep Awaludin Prihantono, S.Pi., M.P / FPIK (first place), Dr. Eng. Ahmad Afif Suprianto, S.Si., M.Kom / Filkom (second place), Dr. Ir. Joni Kusnadi, M.Si/FTP (third place).

Lecturers for Social and Humanities, which are Dias Satria, S.E., M.App.Ec., Ph.D / FEB (first place); Dr. Adi Kusumaningrum, S.H., M.H. / FH (second place); and Cacik Rut Damayanti, S.Sos., M.Prof. ACC., DBA / FIA (third place).

The Most Innovative Researcher are Dr. Ir. Anang Lastriyanto, MSi / FTP (first place), Prof. Ir. Arifin Noor Sugiharto, Msc.,Ph.D / FP (second place), and Dr.Ir. M.Halim Natsir, S.Pt.,MP.,IPM.,ASEAN Eng / FAPET (third place).

The achieved Head of Study Program are Rahmadwati, S.T., M.T., Ph.D / FT (first place); Debri Haryndia Putri, S.T., M.Ds / vocational (second place); and Ns. Tony Suharsono, S.Kep., M.Kep / FK (third place).

The achieved Educational Laboratory Staff, which are Supriyono, S.P., / FTP (first place); Berlian Gari Amrina, S.T./FT (second place), and Hadi Kurniawan, A.Md/FMIPA (third place).

The achieved Financial Managers are Anggi Anggraeni, S.Si./FT (first place), Riska Rinanda, A.Md./FEB (second place), Ahmad Nasichudin, S.E./Filkom (third place).

The achieved Academic Administration Staff are Tunggul Laksono, A.Md./FK (first place), Dinar Widhiwasa, S.E./FEB (second place), and Sukma Patrya, S.T./FT (third place).

The achieved Librarians which are Kethy Hariyadi Putri, S.A.B./UPT Libraries (first place), Abdul Rochim, A.Ma.Pust./FP (second rank), and Aditya Mahari, S.S./FIB (third place).

The achieved Archivist which are Christ Yudha Prasetya, A.Md., S.Kom., S.E. / FP (first place), Ahmad Syaifuddin / FIA (second place), and Dewi Wijayanti, S.T./FILKOM (third place). [ODS / Humas UB/ Trans. Iir]