Five Campuses Synergize to Actualize The Kampus Merdeka

The Ministry of Education and Culture (Kemendikbud) launched the Kampus Merdeka (Independent Campus) program on January 24, 2020.

The Indonesian Minister of Education and Culture, Nadiem A. Makarim, when launching the Kampus Merdeka policy, explained that the meaning of the Independent Campus here is more to autonomous university.

The Kampus Merdeka is part of a series of Ministry of Education and Culture policies with the big theme of Merdeka Belajar, Independent Learning.

Kampus Merdeka itself aims to create a learning culture that is innovative, non-restrictive, and in accordance with the needs of each university.

Since the government launched it in January 2020, several universities have decided to work together to form a consortium.

The decision to form a consortium was made by five engineering faculties from five State Universities (PTN) in Indonesia.

The five universities are Universitas Brawijaya (UB), Udayana University, Hasanuddin University, North Sumatra University, and Mulawarman University.

Representing UB at the online Launching of the 5 PTN Consortium in the framework of Merdeka Belajar, Kampus Merdeka on Monday, September 14 2020 were the Rector of UB, Prof. Dr. Ir Nuhfil Hanani AR MS and Dean of the Faculty of Engineering UB, Prof. Dr. Ir Pitojo Tri Juwono MT IPU.

Prof. Pitojo Tri Juwono after the online meeting explained, the formation of this consortium was to carry out the mandate of the Kemendikbud’s Kampus Merdeka-Merdeka Belajar program.

Through this consortium, students from five State Higher Education Engineering Faculties (PTN) will be facilitated if they want to take part in student exchanges.

“Thus, they can add to the academic experience between PTN while increasing competence,” he said.

The consortium agreed to implement a student exchange starting in the odd semester of the 2020/2021 academic year. This means that even now, students who has interest to this program can be facilitated by each engineering faculty.

Regarding the number of students who will participate, this Water Resources expert said there is no specific target because this program is voluntary.

However, he estimates that the applicants range from 5-10 students per study program or 50-100 students in one engineering Faculty per year.

“The five Deans of the Faculty of Engineering who are members of the consortium agreed that student exchange is reciprocal,” he said. (MED/mic)

Source: Kompas Daily, Tuesday, September 15, 2020. Education & Culture. Page 5