FKUB Harvests Champion at the 2024 Simpic Champion

The contingent from the Faculty of Medicine, Brawijaya University (FKUB) has once again achieved success at the prestigious Sisiraj International Microbiology, Parasitology and Immunology Competition (SIMPIC 2024) in Thailand. In this event which was held from Wednesday to Monday (17-22/1), FKUB won 1st Runner Up, 1 Gold Medal, 1 Silver Medal and 1 Bronze Medal in the event which was attended by 61 teams from various Asian countries.

UB contingent in SIMPIC 2024

This year, UB sent four teams, each containing three students and chaired by Gustav Sitompul. This group consists of UB 01 with members Krisanto Tanjaya, Qonita Qurani, Christalenta Renata. The UB02 team consists of Yohanes Audric Alimsjah, Ni Nyoman Triana Widhiastuti, Sarah Ann Boswel, the UB03 team consists of Akmal Jauhari Irfan, Kresentia Melissa Kurniawan, Muhammad Arifzan Rizqullah and UB04 team consists of Gustav Sitompul, Jeremy Christabel, Syadida Zahiro

“In the preliminary round, three of the four UB teams managed to qualify for the semifinals, and we managed to beat 41 other teams from leading campuses in Asia,” said Gustav. Among these teams, he added, 1 team managed to qualify for the final round.

After going through a strict final round, UB 04 Team managed to win 1st Runner Up, while 1st and 3rd place was won by Chulalungkorn University, Thailand. In addition, at the individual stage, FKUB delegation also succeeded in winning 1 Gold Medal which was won by Gustav Sitompul, 1 Silver Medal by Syadida Zahiro, and 1 Bronze Medal by Yohannes Audric Alimsyah.

Appreciation was conveyed by the Head of SIMPIC FKUB Advisor, Dr. Aulia Rahmi Pawestri, Ph. D. “Preparations for this year’s SIMPIC were carried out for 3 months, starting in October 2023. During this process, the delegates showed enthusiasm, motivation and very satisfying performance during the selection, mentoring and competition process,” she said.

She also thanked all SIMPIC supervisors, namely Dr. Perdana Aditya Rahman, SpPD – KFR, Dr. Nuning Winaris, SSi. MSi., dr. Siwipeni Irmawanti Rahayu, M. Biomed, Sp. MK. , Dr. Yuanita, Dr. Mirza Zaka Pratama, M. Biomed,. Sp.PD and dr. Andrew William Tulle, M.Sc. “Thank you also to all FKUB leadership who have supported the selection, guidance and departure of the delegates. I hope that FKUB can maintain and continue to improve its achievements in international competitions,” she concluded. (Anang/VQ/ UB PR/ Trans. Iir)