FK Harvests Champions at the 2024 SIMPIC Event

The contingent from the Faculty of Medicine, Universitas Brawijaya (FK UB) won achievements at the prestigious Sisiraj International Microbiology, Parasitology, and Immunology Competition (SIMPIC 2024) in Thailand on (17/1 – 22/1/2024). This year, FKUB won 1st Runner Up, 1 Gold Medal, 1 Silver Medal and 1 Bronze Medal in the event which was attended by 61 teams from various Asian countries.

FKUB contingent chaired by Gustav Sitompul (Bachelor of Medicine student class of 2021) consists of 4 teams of 12 students, namely;

UB 01 consists of Krisanto Tanjaya, Qonita Qurani, Christalenta Renata; UB02 consists of Yohanes Audric Alimsjah, Ni Nyoman Triana Widhiastuti, Sarah Ann Boswel; UB03 consists of Akmal jauhari Irfan, Kresentia Melissa Kurniawan, Muhammad Arifzan Rizqullah and UB04: Gustav Sitompul, Jeremy Christabel, Syadida Zahiro.

In its implementation, this year’s competition consisted of a preliminary round, where 3 of the 4 FKUB teams managed to qualify for the semifinals and beat 41 other teams from leading universities in Asia.

Among these teams, 1 FKUB team managed to qualify for the final round. After going through a tense final round, UB 04 Team managed to win 1st Runner Up, while 1st and 3rd place was won by Chulalungkorn University, Thailand. Moreover, at the individual stage, FKUB delegation also succeeded in winning 1 Gold Medal (Gustav Sitompul), 1 Silver Medal (Syadida Zahiro), and 1 Bronze Medal (Yohannes Audric Alimsyah).

Head of SIMPIC FKUB Advisor, dr. Aulia Rahmi Pawestri, Ph. D, said that she felt very proud of the achievements of all the delegates. This year’s SIMPIC preparations were carried out for 3 months, starting in October 2023. During this process, the delegates showed enthusiasm, motivation and very satisfying performance during the selection, mentoring and competition processes.

She also expressed her gratitude to all SIMPIC supervisors, Dr. Perdana Aditya Rahman, SpPD – KFR, Dr. Nuning Winaris, SSi. MSi., dr. Siwipeni Irmawanti Rahayu, M. Biomed, Sp. MK. , Dr. Yuanita, Dr. Mirza Zaka Pratama, M. Biomed,. Sp.PD and dr. Andrew William Tolle, M.Sc. and also thanks to all FKUB leadership levels who have supported the selection, guidance and departure of the delegates.

The next hope is that FK can maintain and continue to improve its achievements in international competitions. (FKUB PR/OKY/UB PR/ Trans. Iir)